Chris Fleck
Wednesday - June 08, 2011
By .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)
E-mail this story | Print this page | Comments (0) | Archive | RSS
| Share

Tim Johns has joined HMSA as senior vice president. Formerly the president and CEO of Bishop Museum, Johns led the museum through the worldwide economic downturn, requiring reorganization and refocus of Bishop Museum’s activities and programs. Recently, Johns initiated a new strategic planning process that set a new vision and direction for the museum.

James C. McWhinnie has received the prestigious Grahovac Award from Meritas Law Firms Worldwide. This award has only been bestowed five times in the past 21 years and recognizes outstanding services in leadership and dedication to the organization. McWhinnie is a director with the law firm Damon Key Leong Kupchak Hastert. Meritas is an established global alliance of more than 170 independent, full-service and top-rated law firms in 73 countries with a total of more than 7,000 attorneys.

Robert Balagtas has been appointed vice president of retail operations for Maui Divers Jewelry. Balagtas will oversee sales at the company’s 56 concept locations throughout Hawaii, California and Guam. Balatgas has recently worked as store manager for Victoria’s Secret Ala Moana Center location, served as general manager for NIKETOWN Honolulu for 11 years, and has held management positions with DFS, Burberry, Calvin Klein and GICC Pro Golf.

Roy K. Amemiya has been named president and CEO of ‘Olelo Community Media. Amemiya will lead ‘Olelo’s initiatives to strengthen island voices and advance community engagement through innovative media as the private, nonprofit PEG (public, educational and governmental) access services and resources provider on Oahu. Before joining ‘Olelo, Amemiya was senior vice president of Central Pacific Bank and the former City Bank from 2001 to 2010. Prior to that, he was the director of Budget and Fiscal Services for the City and County of Honolulu from 1997 to 2000.

William L. Ditto has been named dean of the College of Natural Sciences at UH-Manoa. Ditto is currently the founding director of the School of Biological and Health Systems and Olin professor of Biomedical Engineering at Arizona State University. Formerly Ditto has held the position of founding chairman and professor in the Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Florida. Ditto obtained his Ph.D. in physics from Clemson University, and a Bachelor of Science degree in physics from the University of California at Los Angeles.


Please send MidWeek Movers submissions to .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) or by fax to (808) 585-6324 .

E-mail this story | Print this page | Comments (0) | Archive

Most Recent Comment(s):

Posting a comment on requires a free registration.



Auto Login

Forgot Password

Times Supermarket




Tiare Asia and Alex Bing
were spotted at the Sugar Ray's Bar Lounge